Eight top teams from the lower-tier league at the end of the 2020/2021 Ghanaian football season will start the Division One League Super Cup on September 19, Modernghana Sports can report.

The Ghana Football Association (GFA) earlier this year in February announced plans to introduce a new cup competition for Division One League clubs at the end of the 2020/21 season.

The ‘Super Cup’ is for winners of each zone, second-placed teams in each zone, and two of the third best-placed teams at the end of the season.

Following the end of the season, the launch of the maiden Division One League Super League has taken place today.

At the launch, it has been confirmed that the competition will be staged at the Ghanaman Soccer Centre of Excellence at Prampram and will kick off on September 19.

The eight qualified clubs will be put in two groups of four with the first two teams at the end of the game expected to proceed to the semi-finals.

From there, the winners will advance to the finals while the losers battle for third place.

Below is the list of clubs set to compete in the maiden edition of the Division one Super Cup:

  • 1 Bibiani Goldstars
  • 2. Skyy FC
  • 3. FC Samartez 1996
  • 4. Real Tamale United
  • 5. Bofoakwa Tano
  • 6. Berekum Arsenals
  • 7. Accra Lions
  • 8. Tema Youth FC

About The Author